no one’s perfect

Breakfast this morning was a very lazy one.  I didn’t feel like eating the usual oat bran.  Not to mention that my blender AND my food processor decided to break on me, so green smoothies are out of the question. I’m just not myself without them. I try making them in my new mini food processor, but let’s face it, it’s no Vitamix.  Do it right or don’t do it at all. And no one likes pieces of spinach in their teethsmoothies.

I try not to eat boxed cereal for breakfast because it doesn’t fill me up for more than an hour.  If I do eat cereal, it’s usually Grape Nuts or Trader Joe’s Bran Flakes.  Cheerios and I were in love for quite some time–love me some soluble fiber, but the modified corn starch…. that I don’t love.  But hey, no one’s perfect.

So with green smoothies and oat bran out of the question, I turned to my go-to lazy breakfast/lunch/dinner.  Drumroll please….

Amy’s line of frozen foods is unreal.  It’s NOT easy to find a frozen dinner that’s healthy, mostly organic, free of preservatives, funky chemicals, mystery meat…the whole shebang.

Hey, Lean Cuisine! SEEEE YA, wouldn’t wanna be  eat ya!

I don't haaaate it!i'm full just LOOKIN at this baby

 Pretty darn near perfection. Okay, the tortilla isn’t 100% whole wheat…but come on, no one’s perfect.I love pretty much everything Amy’s sells.  My favorites are the chilli, the veggie loaf, the burritos (obvi), the veggie pizzas, the non-dairy lasagna, the lentil soup, the black-eyed pea rice bowl, I could go on forever.  If it’s Amy’s, you’ll probably like it.  Enda story.If you’re not trying to break your bank, look out for Amy’s at Target.  They sell the soups, burritos and a few frozen meals there for much cheaper than other grocery stores.  Trader Joe’s also makes a non dairy veggie pizza for a few bucks cheaper than Amy’s, and I’m pretty sure they have a nearly identical list of ingredients.
Onto cuter things…

totally natural, obviously

To answer your question, yes, we did  iron all of those little doggies onto LiaBanana’s shirt.  The kiddies may not like my overnight oats, but they do love overnight braids!!!!

Back at the casa, the tumbly was grumblin’.  Thyme 4 lunch.

Sweet Potato, Bean and Kale Stew

serves 4

lightly adapted from this recipe (thanks Mama Pea)

  • 1/2 c. diced onions
  • 2 c. sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed (about 2 medium potatoes)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 t. chili powder
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • One 28 oz. can fire-roasted diced tomatoes with juices
  • One 14 oz. can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 c. vegetable broth or water
  • 1 medium head of kale
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cilantro to garnish (optional)

Spray a large pot with cooking spray or a bit of coconut/olive/canola oil if you’re feeling sassy. Saute onions, sweet taters, garlic, chilli powder, nutmeg and cumin for about seven minutes, stirring A LOT!

Add tomaters, beans, and a cup of stock or water.  I used water, but veg broth would be more flavorful, obvi.  Bring to a bowl, lower heat, cover and simmer for twenty minutes.

Meanwhile, wash and de-stem kale.  Tear into medium-sized pieces. (It can be any type of kale, but you’ll get the best deal at a local farmer’s market.  I was lucky enough to score a bunch of kale twice the size of my head at the North Market on Saturday, for….wait for it…….. $1.50.)  Mix kale into the stew after it has simmered for twenty minutes.

Sweet potatoes should be fork tender. Season to taste with salt and pep!

Give the BestieRoomie a bowl, lick the spoon, then serve yourself!

recognize this pic?

Kale is a superhero in the veggie world. It is the most nutrient dense green around, high in Vitamin A, C, K, calcium, iron, and the list goes on.  It can be bitter if eaten raw, but incorporating it into a soup takes away the bitterness factor.

See that spillage of stew on the side of the left bowl? Gets me every time.

But hey, no one’s perfect.

"she looks like a demented chipmunk." -saun-baun

She comes pretty darn close.

2 thoughts on “no one’s perfect

Leave a Reply

