GLEEn smoothie

I love Sue Sylvester.

I also love six-year-olds.

“Did you know one of the Glee people left the show?”

“Really? Which one?”

“The boy who thinks he’s a girl!”

Ohhhh right. Now I’m even more excited to see the Glee movie in 3D today with the kiddies.

In other news, I was recently blessed by the smoothie gods with my brother’s $15 Target blender. I know, big spender. I’m borrowing it. Borrowed perhaps without the intention of returning it.  Add it to the list of why I adore Target (ahem, cheap Amy’s burritos and chocolate larabars).

take that, Vitamix!

I love starting the day with a green smoothie.

I love ending the day with a green smoothie.

Like two nights ago when I drank one during my new favorite movie, The Help (which was amazing).  I was in a huge rush, so I threw everything in sight in this baby blender and called it a night.  When my friend from class saw me at the movie drinking it, she looked at me like I was crazy.

“What is that?!”

“A green smoothie. Try it. I swear you’ll love it.”

Gulp.

“Wait. That’s so good!”

I know, I know.

Gleen Smoothie

-serves one or two

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk/soymilk/organic cow’s milk (I don’t measure the liquid, so start with less and add more if necessary)
  • 2 handfuls of baby spinach
  • 1-2 tablespoons almond butter/peanut butter
  • 1 sliced  and frozen RIPE banana
  • 1/4-1/2 cup frozen blueberries (or unfrozen, but frozen gives a creamier consistency)
  • 1/2 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 2-3 ice cubes
Blend and enjoy!

the goods

pre-blending

drinking on the go!

Now go see Glee in 3D.  Because I know you love Sue, too.

10 thoughts on “GLEEn smoothie

    • Ground flaxseed is a great source of fiber and omega-3′s. It’s super healthy and that’s why I add it to my smoothies. But if you don’t have any, feel free to leave it out!!

  1. Ground flaxseed is a great source of fiber and omega-3’s. It’s super healthy and that’s why I add it to my smoothies. But if you don’t have any, feel free to leave it out!!

  2. This looks really good! I love green smoothies from odwalla and other misc brands, but they have so much sugar (even tho they say no sugar added) that the healthy stuff almost seems useless. Does this taste sweet at all or is it more “green” tasting? I’m assuming its good because of the natural sugars in the fruits.

    • All of the smoothies I make are sweet and NOT green tasting. I use baby spinach because, well, it’s realy healthy, but mainly because I don’t taste it in the smoothie. Start with a handful and you’ll see.

      Yes, a lot of commercial smoothies have tons of sugar because of the fruit juice (usually apple juice), which is a concentrated source of sugar. Even though it’s natural sugar, it’s stil not great to be drinking that much of it all the the time. The only sweetener in my green smoothies is banana. If I taste it and it’s not sweet enough, I’ll add more banana. Try making “soft serve” with 1/4-1/2 cup milk, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, 1 tbsp peanut butter, a frozen banana and ice. Or just blend a frozxen banana! YUM.

Leave a Reply

