Spinach and Artichoke Hummus

First I tell you to make a green GLEEn smoothie.

Then green brownies, green cheese, green eggs and ham…

Not exactly.

What’s next? Green hummus?!

Maybe.

Spinach and Artichoke Hummus

-makes about 2 cups

  • 1 15 oz. can chickpeas
  • 1 6 oz. jar quartered, marinated (in oil) artichoke hearts
  • 1 cup organic baby spinach
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp oil from artichoke jar
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • pinch of sea salt or to taste

    the goods

  1. Remove all the artichokes from jar and place in food processor.  Add 3 tbsp of the marinated oil from jar. 
  2. Combine all other ingredients except spinach in food processor and blend until relatively smooth.
  3. Add in spinach and blend until smooth and creamy ( a few minutes).
pre-spinach

I won’t judge you if you eat the garnish.

In other news, my blog has almost 2,000 views! That makes me a VERY happy hummusapien!  So keep reading, and even better, tell a friend about Hummusapien!  Or two…or three…

And check out the Humbelievable Recipes page under the About page.  Get cookin’! 

Lastly, today I got a question from a reader:

“I am trying to eat breakfast every day because I didn’t used to in the past…But I am SO hungry all morning when I do!  Why?”

My response:

“Eating breakfast is essential to lose weight or maintain a healthy weight.  It starts up your metabolism so you can burn calories all day.  Sumo wrestlers don’t eat breakfast in order to gain weight…enough said!

Lots  of times I eat breakfast at 7:30am, so by 10:00 or 10:30am, I’m hungry again, and that’s ok.  It may mean I didn’t eat a satisfying breakfast, but that’s not usually the case.  I always eat about every 3 to 4 hours, so my body is used to this pattern, good breakfast or not.
 
Back in the day, I usually would eat some Grape Nuts, Cheerios or Trader Joe’s Bran Flakes with soymilk for breakfast.  I learned quickly that cereal doesn’t keep me full for more than an hour.  Boxed cereal is very processed, doused with sugar and then fortified with the vitamins and minerals lost during processing.  Not ideal.
 
So what’s the solution?  I usually have a green smoothie or oatmeal for breakfast. It always involves nut butter for extra protein. And I pack a banana or a Larabar to eat around 10:30 when I’m hungry again.  For the green smoothie, just slice and freeze a ripe banana over night, then in the morning, blend the banana with 1 or 2 tbsp peanut or almond butter, 1 cup of milk, a couple handfuls of baby spinach, and any frozen fruit you have on hand.  You can add cocoa powder, too if you want.  You won’t taste the spinach and it’s a great way to get your greens in.  Sometimes I add 1/4 cup of rolled oats or oat bran as well for extra protein and fiber.
 
For oatmeal, it’s better to make your own because instant oats are more heavily processed and have lots of added sugars and flavoring.  Cook one serving according to the package and add a sliced, ripe banana while its cooking.  This will sweeten the oatmeal. Try adding some ground flaxseed for extra fiber. When it’s done, top it with 1 or 2 tbsp of nut butter.  If you need it sweeter, add 100% pure maple syrup. You could also stir some egg whites into your oatmeal for extra protein.
 
If you’re thinking that you don’t have time to make oatmeal in the morning, then make a batch in the beginning of the week.  And you could always heat this stuff up in the microwave too!  Also, the smoothies really don’t take long to make.  I allow myself 35 minutes to get ready in the morning, and that includes making and packing my smoothie or whatever breakfast it is.  We all have time to be healthy.
 
Sometimes I really want toast in the morning.  I buy Ezekial 4:9 break–it’s sprouted wheat, and one of the healthiest breads out there with no hidden crap.  It’s always on sale for $2.79 at Whole Foods (in the frozen section) and I just saw it at Kroger for the same price. So no excuses that eating well has to cost a ton! Don’t forget to freeze it or refrigerate it because it has no preservatives.  I toast two pieces of this bread and slather it with peanut or almond butter, a sliced banana and cinnamon.  Each slice has 4 g of protein and 3 g of fiber, so with two slices and toppings (you can make a sandwich), you’re taking at least 12 g of protein 9 grams of fiber.
 
My breakfasts usually have at least 300-400 calories.  But this works for me.  It helps me eat less during the day and stay focused.  Eating 90 calories of refined carbohydrates isn’t the way to start of your day (ahem, special K bar).  Look for a good amount of fiber, protein and healthy fats. 
 
And remember…eating breakfast isn’t extra calories…it’s the energy you need to make it through your entire day!  So make it count.”
 
Do YOU have a question? Email me at hummusapien@hotmail.com and I’ll answer it on the blog!
 

Who ate all my yummus?

11 thoughts on “Spinach and Artichoke Hummus

  1. Just went to kroger to get coconut oil and milk.. Wish i would have read this first because i need to step up my breakfast regimen and obvi ur ideas are fabulous! Keep up the blog it is helping me ssoooo much!!!!!!!

  2. Pingback: what’s for breakfast? | hummusapien

Leave a Reply

