what’s for breakfast?

I’ve been getting lots of questions about breakfast, so today I thought I would show you a day in the life of my beautiful break-the-fast.

I know you guys want something easy, so this four ingredient shake is darn near perfect.

Part 1:

Peanut Butter Banana Milkshake

  • one sliced RIPE frozen bananna
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk (from the carton, not can)/organic cow’s milk 
  • 1-2 heaping tbsp  peanut butter
  • 2 ice cubes
  • optional: 2 tsp ground flaxseed, baby spinach
    the goods

Using a blender, blend until smooth and creamy.  I used 1/2 cup coconut milk, but when I want a thick, soft-serve consistency, I use 1/4 cup.  I chose to add the flax and skip the spinach this time.

pre-blend

Have you ever had the RPAC’s delicious peaut butter banana shake?  I have, and it is AMAZING. But I’ve had the 600 calorie price tag, too.  My version has no added sugar and WAY less calories 🙂

thick n' creamy

I usually like something sweet AND something salty in the morning, which explains my next choice.

Part 2:

Spinach and Artichoke  Cheezy Toast

Toast bread.

Spread with yummus.

Sprinkle with nooch (nutritional yeast.

Nooch has some pretty impressive stats.

Nutrients

 

Per 1 heaping tablespoon

Calories

60

Total Fat

1 gram

Carbohydrate

7 grams

Fiber

4 grams

Protein

8 grams

Sodium

5 milligrams

Vitamin B1 (thiamin)

640% Daily Value (DV)

Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)

560% DV

Vitamin B3 (niacin)

280% DV

Vitamin B6

480% DV

Folic Acid

60% DV

Vitamin B12

130% DV

Selenium

30% DV

Zinc

20% DV

Now walk your little behind into Whole Foods and get some.  You can read more about it here. I sprinkle it on everything from popcorn and toast to pasta.  Try it on scrambled eggs or anything else you want to cheese-ify. Buy it in the bulk bins or go crazy and buy a whole package.

Now I’m off to Aab for the best Indian food in town.  They have a ridiculously good lunch buffet.


Happy eating!

9 thoughts on “what’s for breakfast?

Leave a Reply

