a day in the life

 Some times people just don’t say the right thing.

Oftentimes when people discover that I’m vegan (95%), they stare at me wide-eyed and ask the famous question: “What do you eat?”

I don’t usually enjoy talking about how or what I eat because most people, understandably, don’t know much about veganism, and it’s often met with skepticism and followed by, “Where do you get your protein?!”

However, sometimes people are genuinely interested and want to learn, in which case I love to talk.  Since you’re reading, I assume you’re one of these people. So I thought I would give you an idea of a typical day of hummusapien eats, down to every last nosh.

Let’s start with breakfast.  Which oddly was at noon.

I present to you Fitnessista’s serious cereal, and boy am I glad I tried this! It’s kind of like deconstructed oatmeal.

Into the bowl went 1/2 cup of oats, a sprinkling of sea salt, cinnamon, a packet of stevia, a dash of vanilla, a little spoonful of peanut butter and chocolate almond butter, 1 tbsp chia seeds, and lots of Silk Light soymilk.

before the milk

Her version has protein powder and no chia seeds…you can really do whatever you want with it!  I didn’t think  would like this, but I actually loved the texture.  I encourage you all to check out the link and try it!

I couldn’t resist the Whole Foods vegan value meal for lunch (at 4:00pm)

I ate half the kale before the picture :/

Veggie burger made of chickpeas, quinoa, carrots, mushrooms, etc., cabbage salad, and garlicky kale (my favorite thing ever, not to mention it’s the most nutrient dense food).  It was all sooo deelish.  Deelish enough for LiaBanana to walk around the table and dig in with her own fork.  Go for it, girlfrand.

Before I forget, I did have a sample of a tortilla chip with guac and Whole Foods as well.

Next, the girls and I hit up the Farmer’s Market.  They got a delicious smelling buckeye cupcake, and I got an acorn squash and a spaghetti squash, each for only a dollar a piece!  The other day at WF my spaghetti squash rang up as $9.00!!! It was $1.99 per pound, and clearly it weighed as much as an elephant.  No thank you, spaghetti squash made of gold.

After her first bite, SaubBaun said,  “If I were Bruce from Matilda, I’d be dying.” 

While making dinner, I noshed on a big handful of blueberries.

Dinner was two big bowls of Quinoa and Bean Corn Chowder a la Daily Garnish (with squash and cantaloupe). It was absolutely fantastic and obviously incredibly healthy. The creaminess comes from almond milk and nutritional yeast rather than heavy cream and cheese. If you make this, which you really should, get Trader Joe’s frozen roasted corn (that’s the key).   The girls each had two huge bowls! Kid approved 🙂

Saunbaun even said it was her favorite corn chowder to date!

LiaBanana was complaining of a sore throat, so our meal was quite orange and bursting with Vitamin C.

chowder with maplebutter squash and cantaloupe

Notice LiaBanana even put cantaloupe in her mandarin orange tea.  Kind of weird, but I encourage her creativity!

Hello, autumn!

MapleButter Acorn Squash

  • 1 acorn squash
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Earth Balance or butter
  • 1 tbsp real maple syrup

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Slice your squash in half  and scoop out seeds. Place in a glass baking dish filled with 1/4 inch of water (so squash doesn’t burn).

Fill each half with a spoonful of Earth Balance and a nice drizzle of maple syrup.  Add some brown sugar if you’re feeling sassy!

Bake for an hour to an hour and fifteen minutes.  The squash should be very soft.  You can eat it right out of the halves or scoop it out.  Either way, get ready for buttery sweet squashy goodness!

After dinner snack #1 was one cup of kamut puffs (2 servings) with half of a sliced banana, a sprinkling of cinnamon and soymilk.

I also had some peppermint tea with So Delicious coconut creamer.

Snack #2 was another little bowl of the corn chowder.

I usually snack quite  a bit during the day, but since I got such a late start, I’m snacking after dinner.  It’s not great to have a bunch of snacks before bed, but my schedule was a little off today.

And now I’m staring at my new Mary’s Gone Crackers (that were on sale today at Whole Foods) and unopened garlic yummus. 

 There may or may not be a snack #3 tonight.

11 thoughts on “a day in the life

  1. i loved that corn chowda it was the best i have ever had, truely. i did like the cupcake too, cause peanut butter is the best food! if it doesnt go with peanut butter, it must go with… mustard!

  2. I made the corn chowder today and it was GREAT!! I really liked how easy it was to make! Bitsy packed it for her lunch tomorrow before we even sat down to eat!! Breakfast will be yogurt with chia and granola!! Keep the good eats coming!!

  3. Pingback: Where do you get your iron!? | hummusapien

Leave a Reply

