Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Pancakes

I know you all got the two for $5 deal on canned pumpkin the other day at Whole Foods.  Or maybe you didn’t, since I got the last two cans…

I know that I wanted something that would make the kitchen smell amazing.  Something comforting, crispy but soft, full of fiber and protein, but too deelish to notice.  Something vegan, whole wheat, low sugar,  high taste. These are perfect.  

I know you all have pumpkin in the pantry waiting to be used in a humbelievable recipe. Right?

Right.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Pancakes

-serves two lucky people

  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour/whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 packet of stevia (or use 2 tbsp of maple syrup instead of one)
  • handful of chocolate chips
  • 1 cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup (or brown sugar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 2 tsp melted coconut oil (or other oil)

  1. Heat a skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Combine the wet ingredients in a separate bowl.
  4. Add the wet to the dry, and do NOT overmix.  Don’t hate on the lumps!
  5. Scoop batter onto skillet, about 1/4 cup for each pancake.  Flip once bubbly around the edges.
  6. Serve drizzled with pure maple syrup and Earth Balance if you’re feeling spicy.

Take a bite and prepare to say “Oh my god, I’m dying.”

I know they’re called pancakes, but would you mind if I called these damncakes?

I didn’t think so.

21 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Can’t wait to make these with the extra pumpkin I have after making the Pumpkin Muffins from Happy Herbivore. There were DELISH. Thanks alexis, you da bomb. Can we still make time for Vegan cooking nights once I get back to CBUS?

  2. And I just made them for my family!! Everyone loved them! Thanks for sharing Alexis. They were soo yummy. I can’t believe I’m saying this… but I actually enjoy cooking, thansk to you!! Who would have thought.

  3. Pingback: the big ten | hummusapien

  4. Pingback: jeni’s | Hummusapien

  5. Pingback: more pumpkin? | Hummusapien

Leave a Reply

