Life’s Little Lessons

I can’t believe I’m a senior in college. Time is flying by.

Tonight when Liabanana was picking out bedtime stories, she said, “This one will crack your head off!”  She was right–they were pretty funny.  Luckily, I still have my head, and I even found a few thoughts up there that I thought I should share. 

Lesson #1: Kids don’t come out of the womb hating broccoli and all things healthy.

After school today, I asked Liabanana if she wanted her usual snack of something dipped in mustard.  When I told her there was arugula (perfect mustard vehicle) in the fridge, her eyes lit up like I had just told her I bought four puppies. 

The other night, I made her Amy’s mac and cheese.  Guess what she did?  She doused it in my mustard.  At least it’s turmeric making it yellow and not yellow #5 (take a look at the ingredients in banana peppers).  Did you think they were naturally electric yellow?

SaunBaun requested “the usual, which you should know by now,” –half of a  toasted whole wheat bagel with peanut butter.  She says she eats this nearly every twelve hours.  A true hummusapien.

Lesson #2: Make time to do what you love.

I thought starting my blog would be incredibly daunting, that it would take way too much time and effort.   Yes, I probably spend 3 hours a day taking pictures, blogging, thinking about blogging, and reading my other favorite blogs.  But it’s what I love to do.  I look so forward to it.  Yes, I go to sleep hungry nearly every night because I stare at avocado pudding and maple pancakes before bed.  But now that I’ve fallen in love with hummusapien, I feel like I’ve found my calling, my creative outlet, my passion.  Don’t sit around telling yourself that you’ll do it next month. You won’t. Do it now. 

Lesson #3: Don’t get too old to read before bed.

Lesson 4: Bad days are no fun.  But it’s no fun to dwell on the bad days when there are surely some good days ahead.

 Lesson #5: Have confidence in yourself.  At the right time in the right place, everything will start making sense. 

Lesson #6: Make Portobello mushroom burgers using this recipe.

These are so juicy and delicious.  Put it on a whole wheat but with a truckload of mustard and call it a day.  Or serve it on a bed of spinach and arugula with hemp seeds and your favorite vinaigrette.  Or slice them up and serve them salad style with hunks of goat cheese. 

Don’t have a grill?  Broil them for 4-5 minutes per side.  Now you have no excuses.

Tonight I curled SaunBaun’s hair because she was going to see Katy Perry in concert while LiaBanana and I sat through Spy Kids 4. Life is not fair. 

But hey, “Every single night turns into a brand new day.”

18 thoughts on “Life’s Little Lessons

  1. Katy Perry was amazing! And I tried your mushroom thing last night and it was deelish.
    Katy Perry was amazing! And I love those books you read to LiaBanana last night.
    AND did I mention Katy Perry was amazing???

  2. What a wonderful post! And very true lessons – I whole heartedly agree with all. I only wish I didn’t fall asleep before fully indulging in #3…

    Also, your comment on my blog prompted me to grill mushrooms last night 🙂 I didn’t have portobello to hand, but your pictures may motivate me to get some of them too. Yum!

  3. Pingback: the big ten | hummusapien

  4. Pingback: Life’s Little Lessons: Part II | Hummusapien

Leave a Reply

