Tall, dark and handsome

I know what you’re thinking when you read the name of this post. 

Not Channing Tatum.

Not Big from “Sex and the City.”

Not that one guy from that one movie who isn’t half as TD&H when you find out his name is Morris Chestnut.

You’re thinking of only one thing.

Tall Dark Hot Cocoa

  • 1 cup of milk*
  • 2 tbsp So Delicious coconut creamer (or dairy creamer)
  • 1 heaping tbsp dark cocoa powder (like Hershey’s Special Dark)
  • 3/4 packet of Stevia (or other sweetener, like a couple tsp of sugar or to taste)
  • dash of sea salt
  • sprinkling of cinnamon
  • dash of vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp chocolate chips (plus 1 tbsp on the side)

*I used Silk Light because it’s lightly sweetened and has a great creamy taste.  I’m not a fan of hot cocoa made with almond milk, so I recommend Silk Light or dairy milk.  The coconut milk creamer makes this ultra creamy and decadent!

Heat the milk and creamer in a mug for about 90 seconds in the microwave.

While the milk is heating, stir all the other ingredients in a separate mug (like one that says Alex because Disney World didn’t think Alexis was cool enough in 1997).

Pour the heated milk over the dry ingredients and stir until smooth.  Put a little elbow grease in it…those chocolate chips aren’t gonna melt by themselves!

If you want this to be extra TD&H, serve it with a bowl of chocolate chips to pop in your mouth before each sip. Because of the dark cocoa powder, each sip tastes like a creamy bite of cookie.

Step aside, Morris. I’ve got cookies to drink.

11 thoughts on “Tall, dark and handsome

  1. Absolutely LOVE your blog Alexis! I look forward to reading it every morning with my cup of Joe in my hand.

    I will definitely be trying this recipe especially with Autumn right around the corner.

  2. Hi Alexis! I just stumbled upon your blog, and I love it! (The name alone is priceless!) I cannot wait to make this hot cocoa. It sounds wonderful. (I never would have thought of putting chocolate chips in it.) And I’m crazy in love with So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer. I’ll use their Sugar-free Vanilla Coconut Milk to make this, too! Can’t wait!!!

  3. Alexis, I love your blog. Not only does the recipe sound delicious who doesn’t like a little extra sass in the instructions!. Super cute and witty. Want to try this soon, I’m always looking for something to curb my chocolate obsession.

Leave a Reply

