What I Ate Wednesday

Hola, foodie friends.

I decided to join all the smart people over at Peas and Crayons in the What I Ate Wednesday series!  I always get asked what I eat…so here’s the answer!

Breakfast

Ezekiel toast with sunflower seed butter and cinnamon and a green smoothie made with a frozen banana, almond milk, peanut butter and flax-seed.

This was the perfect  light pre-yoga breakfast.  When did a flexibility test last month, my score of 21 wasn’t even on the chart for sixty-year-old women.  Some people may call that embarassing, but I call it a marvelous reason to take OSU’s yoga class.

When I asked my dad if inflexibility runs in the family, he said “I refuse to answer that question.”

Me: “Why?!”

Dad: “I’m being inflexible.  Get it?

Me: “….Oh. Ha ha?”

Dad: “Anyway, yes!  I could never cross my legs when I was younger.”

Then it all came together.  No wonder I can’t touch my toes.

Mid-morning snack

(eaten in a classroom with fabulous lighting, obviously)

Lunch

 A ginormous salad with spinach, romaine, cucumber, peppers, tomatoes, onions, chickpeas, and a “northstar burger” (roasted beats and yams, brown rice, black beans, cranberries) doused with the best condiments known to woman: mustard and hot sauce.

Post-workout snack

Applesauce and a serving of dark chocolate almonds.

Dinner

Spicy tofu with avocado quinoa salad (recipe coming soon).

Evening Snack

The tumbly was rumbly when I got back from the library.  I had some raisin walnut whole wheat toast with sunflower seed butter and the last bowl of pumpkin black bean soup.

Oh and some blueberries and blackberries.

What’s more important than my eats is the fact that Kara is currently meeting Dr. Esselstyn!

He’s one of the pilots of the plant based diet research showing that excessive amounts of animal protein lead to a host of chronic diseases.

And “he’s the cutest old guy ever.”

15 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Hi there! The quinoa looks delicious…I’ve been wanting to work up the courage to cook with quinoa for the longest time. Please plllllllllllllllease post that recipe sometime soon… it looks right up my ally! Love your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

