Quinoavocado Salad

Picture this.

You’re eight years old, sitting in the cafeteria at school, about to open your lunch box.  The “lunch monitors” have finally gotten off their high horses.  That is, they’ve finally stopped telling you to be quiet in the hallway, acting like their job is ten times more important than it is. 

You open your lunchbox, and next to the salami sandwich, pretzels,  kiwi, and a cookie, is a box of raisins.  RAISINS. Ew.

source

The worst part is that the sad excuse of a fruit that you told your mom ten times not to pack you isn’t even tradeable.  Let’s be real.  Who wants wrinkly raisins when you can trade for Oreos, Lunchables and Bugles?

And how disappointed are you when you think you’re about to eat a chocolate chip cookie and it turns out to be oatmeal raisin? The nerve!

Pinned Image

source

I wish I would have had this in my lunch instead.

Quinoavocado Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water/veg broth
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • 1/2 – 1 cup corn
  • 1/3 cup diced red onion
  • juice of one small lime
  • 1/4 cup packed cilantro leaves (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • dash of cumin
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

Bring quinoa and water/broth to a boil.  Simmer, covered, for fifteen minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed.  Allow quinoa to cool.

Add the rest of the ingredients and stir to combine. Season liberally with sea salt.

 Eat it straight up, or as a side dish, or top with tofu for a filling dinner.

P.S.  I just ate raisins smothered in peanut butter and it tasted fabulous.  I stand corrected.

 I despise dip-n-dots… and blue cheese.  Perhaps I should try dipping those in peanut butter, too? 

To to all you tofu haters… there’s always peanut butter.

 

13 thoughts on “Quinoavocado Salad

  1. funny post! and you know what? i always packed raisins myself (and still love them! dipped in peanut butter even better!) since my mom rarely fixed my luch and if she did I got a sandwich-thats it. so the snacks were my choice.
    I am totally sold on the tofu; i eat it just like you. your quinoa dish looks amazing, i am so addicted to that stuff

  2. just made this! after my 24 hours of trying to soften my black beans I went to Krogetto and bought the canned ones 🙂 but the whole process was worth it. SO GOOD and I’m so full after it aannndd I have enough to eat for at least four more meals! thanks for the great inspiration to cook girlie!

  3. Pingback: Banana Nut Quinoa Scramble | Hummusapien

  4. Pingback: Recent Eats and Treats Part II | Hummusapien

  5. Pingback: Weekend in Pictures: Reunited | Hummusapien

Leave a Reply

