Green Protein Pancakes

I love weekend breakfasts because I can actually enjoy what I’m eating and not have to rush out the door for work and then run after the bus because I took too long making breakfast.

Scrambled egg whites with onion, garlic, spinach and tomatoes in a whole wheat pita with hummus?  Not a work morning-friendly breakfast.  After Lia’s Lazer Craze birthday party she told me I had garlic breath, so maybe I’ll skip the garlic next time.

So will it be a pumpkin pie green smoothie?

Overnight oats?

Buckwheat bake?

Toast and sunflower seed butter?

Pancakes? HECK YES.

Pancakes are by far my favorite weekend breakfast.  Plus I end up with five servings that’ll last me throughout the week.  That means not having to run after the bus in the morning.  Maybe.

Since I prefer to have a filling breakfast with something green in it,  shouldn’t I blend the milk in the recipe with handfuls of spinach and sub a fourth of the flour with protein powder?

I don’t see why not.

Raw protein powder is currently on sale for $19.99 at Whole Foods, which is HALF OFF the usual price.  Hello, protein pancakes.

The best part is that the protein powder taste is undetectable as is the spinach. Win and win.

Green Protein Pancakes

inspired by Skinny Taste

-serves 5

  • 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour/whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup protein powder (I used Garden for Life Raw)
  • 4 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp cane sugar
  • 2 tbsp ground flaxseed + 6 tbsp water
  • 2 heaping cups milk (I used  Silk unsweetened vanilla almond)
  • 2 big handfuls spinach
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  1. Prepare flax eggs by stirring flaxseed and water together in a bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together flour, protein powder, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and sugar.
  3. In a blender (I used a magic bullet) combine one cup of milk with the spinach.  Blend until fully incorporated.  No one wants spinach in their teeth.
  4. Pour spinach milk + other cup of milk, vanilla and flax egg into the bowl of dry ingredients. Stir until just mixed and do NOT overstir! 
  5. Now spray a skillet with cooking spray and heat to medium.
  6. Using a 1/4 cup measure, scoop batter onto preheated pan.  Once little bubbles form on the pancakes, they are ready to be flipped.  They should be a nice golden brown color.  Spray pan between each set of pancakes.

Pre-flip:

Post-flip:

Pre-eat:

Post-eat:

 Still not sold?

Check out these amazing nutritional stats.

200 calories, 8 g of fiber, 12 g of protein, 35% DV of calcium and 17.5% DV or iron.

 
 
  Calories 201.2
 
  Total Fat 3.2 g
 
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
 
  Sodium 724.7 mg
 
  Potassium 154.9 mg
 
  Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
 
      Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
 
      Sugars 3.1 g
 
  Protein 12.2 g
 

 

 
  Vitamin A 26.6 %
 
  Vitamin C 6.1 %
 
  Vitamin D 10.0 %
 
  Vitamin E 21.1 %
 
  Calcium 35.1 %
 
 
  Iron 17.5 %

 Love,

Your mean, lean, green protein pancake machine

 

 

13 thoughts on “Green Protein Pancakes

  1. I love pancakes that have hidden nutrition too! There’s so much you can throw in them! Have you tried using coconut or almond flour for the added protein? . . . this way you don’t have to add in protein powder and the flavor of these two flours are amazing! Thanks for the super nutritious recipe!

    • I have actually never cooked with almond flour but I know I would love it! I wanted to find unique ways to use the Raw protein powder since I got it for such a great deal 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cocoa Berry Smoochie | Hummusapien

  3. Pingback: Favorites | Hummusapien

Leave a Reply

