My favorite hot chocolate

Multiple times per week I make a mug of hot chocolate after dinner.

INGREDIENTS: Sugar, modified whey, corn syrup, cocoa (processed with alkali), partially hydrogenated soybean oil, marshmallows (sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, gelatin, artificial flavor), nonfat dry milk, less than 2% of: salt, dipotassium phosphate, carrageenan, artificial flavor.

20 grams of sugar? Trans fat (partially hydrogenated soybean oil), modified whey, dipotassium phosphate?

No thank you!

My favorite hot cocoa is downright delicious, super simple to make, and boasts a mere 92 tiny calories and 10 grams of sugar.  How I pack so much chocolately goodness into 92 calories is beyond me.

Trader Joe’s sells my absolute favorite unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  It’s the only almond milk that tastes good to me in cereal, and let me tell you, I’ve tried EVERY almond milk. Not to mention that it has the same amount of calcium as a cup of cow’s milk. We have a winner, folks.

Did you know that the United States has a higher recommended Daily Allowance of calcium than most other countries in the world?  50% higher than the British and Japanese, to be exact.  Hello, National Dairy Council. Pleased to meet you and your conflict of interest.

“‘Americans, who ingest much higher levels of calcium, have much higher rates of osteoporosis and hip fractures compared with many Chinese and other Asians who consume few dairy products and ingest low amounts of calcium,’ Campbell said. ‘Hip fractures in the United States, for example, are approximately five times more frequent than in China.'”

Three cheers for the fact that a cup of kale has as much calcium as a Chobani yogurt!

Hip fracture, hip fracture, hooray!

My Favorite Hot Cocoa

  • 1 cup milk (I use unsweetened vanilla almond)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2.5 tsp cane sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of sea salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp chocolate chips (optional)

Pour milk into your favorite mug and microwave for two minutes.  Stir in the rest of the ingredients.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “My favorite hot chocolate

  1. Once upon a (cheap student lifestyle) time, I drank those swiss miss hot chocolates. Clearly you are much further ahead than I was and worked out at an earlier age that they are a disgrace to real hot chocolate! Your version looks much, much better 🙂

    • Yep! I use organic cane sugar from Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s…it only costs about $2.50!

      But yes, it is the same thing as regular sugar just less proccessed.

Leave a Reply

