A Healthy World

There aren’t many things I regret about my college experience.

But tonight, I thought of one.

Image

I so very much regret not taking advantage of Yoga Circle’s Vegetarian Cooking Workshop. Each Monday evening from 7pm-9pm in Ohio State’s RPAC’s demo kitchen, they prepare wonderfully unique and healthy vegetarian cuisine.  I could not think of a more enjoyable and interactive way to learn more about cooking, plant-based health, and the ethics and philosophy behind vegetarianism.

We even got a free cookbook!

Image

The cooking class and delicious dinner is all free of charge. The Yoga Circle team generously donates their time (after a full day of work) as their way of giving back to society.  I haven’t met such kind, genuine people in quite a long time.

We often forget to honor our food–instead we devour it in the fast-paced manner that is our lives.  I do it myself everyday.  Today for lunch I managed to eat a huge salad with rice and beans, Finn crisps and hummus, some tempeh, and a zucchini muffin in the fifteen minutes that I had to spare before babysitting.  The last thing I thought about was honoring or celebrating the food.

Tonight, surrounded by sincere people and incredible food, I made up for lost time and took more than a few moments to truly be thankful for what was in front of me.

We had creamy broccoli soup, scrambled tofu burritos, basmati rice and beans, fried plantains and blueberry halva. You can see a collection of wonderful recipes from their website here.

Image

Everything tasted and smelled spectacular, but I especially enjoyed the broccoli soup.  It was simple–steamed broccoli, water, olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon juice and….

 …the secret ingredient? Veganaise! It’s made with grape seed oil instead of eggs and it truly added the perfect tang.

The secret ingredient for the scrambled tofu was definitely the black salt, which I had never cooked with before, and turmeric. I absolutely loved the depth of flavor.  As for the blueberry halva, the combination of toasted cashews, plump raisins, brown sugar, berries and farina made for the perfect porridge.

Did you know that turmeric is excellent for the brain and for preventing Alzheimer’s (and has stronger healing effects than garlic)?  Or that ginger aids in digestion?  Or that cayenne is great for the immune system?

source

Encouraging plant-based foods is slowly showing up in everything I read.  Just today in my nutrition class, we discussed the main ways to prevent cancer:

Choose mostly plant foods.  Limit red meat and avoid processed meat. Be physically active every day.  Aim to be as lean as possible without being underweight.  Avoid taking supplements–studies show that they can cause more harm than good.  Isolating the nutrient will not aid in cancer prevention–eat the whole food instead.

Image

If you are an OSU student, I HIGHLY encourage you to take advantage of this one of a kind opportunity.  You will be amazing people, enjoy incredible food that you’ve never tried before, and discover a newfound appreciation for the food you put into your body everyday.

“Be the ingredient to create a healthy world.”

4 thoughts on “A Healthy World

Leave a Reply

