Wake Me Up Banana Berry Smoothie

If you know me at all, you know that I am always hungry. 

source

It’s not veganism or vegetarianism making me not full– even in my carnivore days, I had a fast metabolism that allowed me to eat more than any one else in my family and still rarely be too full.

After all, my fun fact for Alpha Phi recruitment was that “I never get full, except on Thanksgiving….sometimes.”

Let us not ignore my other commonly used fun fact, that “I was on the TV show Zoom when I was little, and I had to do a really awkward dance for the ‘come on and ZOOM!’ dance at the end.”  I then proceed to actually do the awkward dance, get a few laughs, and then more than a few “WOAH! Wait, were you really on Zoom!?”

Yes, true on both accounts.  It may also be true that I wore an ugly striped turtleneck and had a double chin.  #sixthgradeawkwardphase

Were the turtlenecks necessary?

I can’t say they were.

The smoothie recipe I’m about to give you is great because it’s quick, easy and chock full of nutrients to get the day started.  Smoothies don’t fill me up, but I love leaving for work without my stomach grumbling and knowing that I started my long day on a healthy note.

Wake Me Up Banana Berry Smoothie

  • 1 cup milk (I used Silk unsweetened almond)
  • 1 medium ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen spinach
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds/ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Blend milk and frozen spinach first until you achieve an even green color.

Blend the rest of the ingredients and enjoy!

Smooth, creamy, cold, sweet, healthy perfection.

Yes, quite healthy perfection.

At work, around 10:30am, I had four whole wheat blueberry pancakes as my “second breakfast.”  I like to have a little something before I leave for work around 7:15am and something more substantial around 10:00am.  Then I’m not a ravenous beast when lunch rolls around during my never-ending business class in which I am currently blogging.

I’ve also learned to always be prepared with snacks.  I left fairly early this morning and I have work/class til 4:00 + working out + studying all night at the library for finals.  That means I have to pack breakfast, lunch and snacks (I’ll buy dinner at RPAC).  Today I packed pancakes for breakfast, an Amy’s burrito for lunch, raw almonds and dried cranberries, cucumbers and hummus, two oatmeal bars, and an apple for snacks.  Always be prepared for when hunger strikes! 

That way, you won’t have to buy decaf coffee with soymilk and a crappy vegan energy bar at the library tonight like last week.

Aaaaaaaand it’s about that time–hunger is striking. 

source

Thank God I’m prepared.

10 thoughts on “Wake Me Up Banana Berry Smoothie

  1. You forgot to the “thinking about hunger cycle”, you know, the part that shows you thinking about your next couple meals 100% of the time

  2. i have no idea what zoom is but it looks like i missed out on a great show. I NEVER GET FULL EITHER!! i feel like i have used this as a fun fact also. my theory is its a combination between fast metabolism and that i drink so much water my stomach is used to being full? maybe?

  3. That is HILARIOUS. I loved Zoom as a kid and I was hugely delighted when I moved to Boston and my zip code was “BOSTON, MASS! 0-2-1-3-4.” I still sing it in my head whenever I have to write my zip code on anything. 😀

Leave a Reply

