WIAW

Let’s pretend that I didn’t just post What I Ate Wednesday when it’s still 11:45pm on a Tuesday.

That’s awkward.  Thanks for the heads up, McCann. 

* * *

It’s What I Ate Wedensday!

Today I went to Trader Joe’s and somehow spent sixty dollars even though my dad had just brought me about every fruit and vegetable in the world  + truffles when he came to visit me on Saturday.

The load included my usual staples like bananas, hummus x2, avocados, kale, almond milk, tofu and organic eggs.  I’m dying to make green bean fries so I grabbed a bag of those as well.  Add in some wild smoked salmon,  Puffins, tuna, oat bran, sprouted bread, enchiladas and shampoo and ding a ling–you’ve reached sixty dollars. 

Grocery shopping is one of my favorite activities so hey, I’m really not complaining. 

Time for eats.

Breakfast

Ezekiel cinnamon raisin toast with almond butter + a unpictured bowl of grape nuts with almond milk + blueberries.  Hello carbs.

Lunch

Romaine with broccoli, tomatoes and tuna mixed with avocado + unpictured bowl of black bean veggie soup.

I snacked on my newest obsession, Barbara’s Bakery Shredded Spoonfuls on the way home .  It tastes like Life minus the BHT (a nasty preservative) and yellow #5.  I try not to eat cereal since it’s sugary and extremely processed, but I gotta treat myself here and there.

Not a day goes by without me eating a fourth of the container of hummus.

Dinner

Roasted sweet potatoes, red onions and zucchini + broiled tofu marinated in soy sauce, ginger, garlic and agave.  I ate half for dinner and saved half for tomorrow’s lunch over a salad.  I love leftovers.

Dessert was an amazingly delicious organic dark chocolate truffle. Thanks mom and dad! You know it’s good when you’ve said “mmmmmmm” ten times before you’re done eating it, right Nikki?  Literally ten times.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have a bowl of Shredded Spoonfuls with almond milk as a five-minute-after-dinner-snack.

Hope you ate something delicious today!

4 thoughts on “WIAW

  1. Looks like a great set of meals / snacks! Your dinner, in particular, is making me hungry 🙂 As are the truffles for that matter…

  2. Looks like a pretty delicious day! How is that Ezekiel cinnamon raisin toast? I’ve had a little experience with Ezekiel but they haven’t been so great. Cinnamon raisin sounds delicious though!

    • I LOVE it! I think the other kinds are a bit dry, but I really like the cinnamon raisin–so amazing with almond butter, or just plain butter for that matter. I swear, it’s addicting.

Leave a Reply

