Tuna Burgers

Something’s fishy around here.

It may just be that tuna right there, sailing along on a boat of spinach. Must be nice. 

Fish can be pricey. I just spent $4.99 at TJ’s on wild smoked salmon because I refuse to by farmed.  Let me tell you, my salmon snobbiness ends there.  I’m way too frugal to spend more than that on any other fish period, so cans of wild tuna and salmon have been my savior lately.

Just because there isn’t a smoothie involved doesn’t mean I don’t want to turn these green.  A meal without veggies is like a bed without sheets.  Weird, but doable.

Don’t you hate when you get home all ready to go to sleep and there are no sheets on the bed? The nerve.

You’ll sleep better knowing there are covers on your bed and spinach in your burger.

Tuna Burgers

  • 1 can of tuna, drained
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed + 3 tbsp water (or one egg)
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1 cup packed spinach, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 small dill pickle, very finely chopped
  • 2-3 tbsp bread crumbs (I used panko)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Mix together flaxseed and water in small bowl in order to form your “flax egg.”  Set aside. You can also use a real egg.
  2. Spray a medium pan with cooking spray and heat to medium.  Dice onion, spinach and garlic.  Add onion to pan and saute for a few minutes, stirring frequently.
  3. Add chopped spinach and garlic to the pan with onions.  Sautee for a couple minutes until spinach is wilted. Season liberally with salt.
  4. Remove vegetables from heat and dump into a medium bowl.  Add the rest of ingredients, including the egg, and stir until well-incorporated.  Season with salt and pepper and form into two patties.
  5. Turn the heat back up on the pan to medium and add a tsp of oil.  Pan fry the burgers until browned on each side (a few minutes per side) Flip VERY carefully, as the flax version will want to fall apart!
  6. Eat in spinach boats or on a whole-grain bun.

Green bean fries make a fabulous side dish.  Dare I say that this burger would be wonderful dipped in, ya know…

Hummus!?

Glad to have ya back, seafood.

Dessert was amazing tonight.  I made my snickerdoodle smoothie into soft serve by using just enough almond milk to make it blend (maybe 1/4 cup).  The almond butter makes it so creamy and delicious that you really feel like you’re eating snickerdoodle soft serve.

This is my new favorite dessert. 

 I’m sure you’ll feel the same. 

7 thoughts on “Tuna Burgers

  1. I do love tuna burgers. With fish being the only meat I eat, I like it to be enjoyable when I have it – these look like they definitely would be!

  2. Pingback: Favorites | Hummusapien

Leave a Reply

