Oatmeal Cold Cereal

Skipping breakfast is like not brushing my teeth in the morning.

Absurd. Ludicrous. Preposterous.  Snuffaluffagus.

Being too busy or running too late are not in my breakfast vocabulary. I run after the bus and risk being late for work/class all for the sake of eating in the morning.  Breakfast > punctuality.

I go to bed pondering whether I have the time and/or ingredients to make coconut pancakes.  Then I debate if I have time to go to the store tomorrow to get the ingredients for coconut pancakes so I can make them the next day.  I wake up excited to greet my belly with fab food.

The only issue is that I wake up starving every morning without fail and am often too lazy to take the time to make pancake batter or stove top oatmeal or Father’s Day veggie omelettes. And when it’s 90 degrees out, I don’t want hot mushy oatmeal, anyway.

So instead of resorting to sugary, over-processed boxed cereal stripped of its nutrients and fortified with every vitamin and mineral in the book, I like to turn oats into cold cereal.

This isn’t an earth-shattering recipe;  it’s just a healthy and quite delicious alternative to boxed cereal and hot oatmeal on sweaty days when you think your skin may melt off.

Oatmeal Cold Cereal

-serves one

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • hefty shake of cinnamon (1/4-1/2 tsp)
  • 1 cup milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond)
  • 1/2 banana, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp almond or peanut butter
  • optional: sweetener, slivered almonds, chocolate chips, dried fruit, coconut, granola
  1. Stir together oats, flaxseed and cinnamon.
  2. Pour milk over top and then add sliced banana.
  3.  Place tbsp of almond butter on top, breaking apart with a spoon to distribute.  No one hates chunks of almond butter.
  4. Eat.

I don’t think this needs any added sugar because it’s sweet from the banana, but feel free to add maple syrup or sugar to taste.  I love the texture of uncooked oats and I think this is a great option if you’re not in the mood to eat hot oatmeal or don’t have the patience to cook it.

In other news, I’ve been listening to Usher’s song “Show Me” on repeat at least ten times while I wrote this post.

It’s a really great song.  Almost as good as breakfast.

One thought on “Oatmeal Cold Cereal

  1. Pingback: Banana Nut Quinoa Scramble | Hummusapien

Leave a Reply

