Arugula Almond Pesto

Today my intern friends and I went to the Clintonville Farmer’s Market. It was nothing short of AWESOME, minus the fact that it took us nearly a day to get home because of game day traffic.

Table upon table of organic greens, tomatoes, grass-fed cheese, artisan breads, coffee, jam, baked goods and more.

I felt like a kid in a candy store.

So, ya know, I only got a few things.

Lettuce, arugula, acorn squash, sweet potatoes, zucchini, yellow squash, green onions, broccoli, basil, celery, red peppers, tomatoes, three packs of luna burgers, organic eggs, organic grass-fed cheddar and granola.

But wait. THIS BASIL.

The amazing people from Jorgenson farm gave me this humongous bag of organic basil for $5.00.  I could easily make enough pesto to feed every mouth in America.  They actually grow the mint for Jeni’s backyard mint ice cream as well as a bunch or herbs for Northstar.  The interns and I will be volunteering at the farm’s third Sunday dinner tomorrow, and I couldn’t be more excited.

I apologize in advance if every recipe this week has some form of basil in it.  I’d say that’s more than likely, pals.

But wait. THIS GRANOLA.

I’m not even obsessed with granola. It’s one of those health foods that’s not a health food, usually packed with massive amounts of sugar and oil.  But this granola had rolled oats, a gazillion nuts, seeds and dried fruits listed waaaaay before organic maple syrup and coconut oil on the ingredient list.  The combination of the lightly toasted pecans and perfect coconutty sweetness was truly fantastic.   I wish I remembered the name of the booth–but since I don’t, make sure you stop by the vegan prepared food stand and pick some up! I’ve tried several of their products and they never cease to amaze me.

Would you like some yogurt with that granola? No.thank.you.

But wait.  THIS PESTO.

Arugula Almond Pesto

Disclaimer: Let me assure you that the color of this pesto really doesn’t do the flavor justice.  For some reason, the top of the pesto turned a brownish green, hiding all the bright green underneath.  It’s what’s on the inside that counts, right?

Ingredients:

  • 1 heaping cup of packed basil
  • small handful of arugula
  • 1/3 cup parmesan/asiago cheese
  • 10 (or more) almonds
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp vegetable broth (or more oil)
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients except oil in a food processor.
  2. Add in oil and process until smooth.

Think of this pesto like, uh, Shrek.  Not the prettiest, but most definitely a keeper.

* * *

“Like”  Hummusapien on Facebook!  Check it out for all my blog links and Trader Joe’s obsessions.

2 thoughts on “Arugula Almond Pesto

  1. Pingback: Crispy Tofu Fingers | Hummusapien

  2. Pingback: Pesto Sweet Potato Chickpeatza + Life Before Hummusapien | Hummusapien

Leave a Reply

