WIAW + Spicy Sweet Tater Fries

I figured we should catch up on the daily eats since it’s been quite some time since I did a What I Ate Wednesday post.  I can hardly stand going through a whole day’s worth of eats when the simplest, most delish recipe is waiting at the end. But I’ll try.

Patience my friends, patience.

Head over to Peas and Crayons for more WIAW!

Breakfast

Leftover banana peanut butter oatmeal with leftover quinoa + vanilla soymilk mixed in + a couple crumbled peanut butter pretzels.  

Lunch

Peanut cilantro luna burger over mixed greens/arugula with avocado basil cream (made with greek yogurt) as the dressing + peppers and cucumbers + an  unpictured apple.

Snack

Homemade pumpkin protein bar with dark chocolate almond butter eaten in the car on the way to a meeting.

Plus tall coffee with soymilk and one pump of pumpkin spice. Much cheaper than a soy pumpkin latte!

Pre-workout snack

Small portion of leftover quinoa quiche with zucchini.

Dinner

Mama Pea’s greek veggie burger  + tahini sauce with spicy sweet tater fries + ketchup.

These veggie burgers are super simple and absolutely delicious! I subbed cannelini beans for chickpeas, white whole wheat flour for oatmeal, and mixed greens for spinach. Trader Joe’s feta with Italian herbs really took it over the top.

Dessert

Chocolate zucchini muffin— a go to classic that I found in the freezer from the batch we made last month.

WHEW!

Drumroll please…

These fries are the best side dish because they’re portion controlled, crispy, and spiced perfectly.  After I finished eating them I thought, “Well, I could easily eat this three more times.” There’s always lunch….

Spicy Sweet Tater Fries

-serves one

Ingredients:

  • 1 small/medium sweet potato
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • *sprinkle of chipotle chilli pepper
  • *sprinkle of smoked paprika
  • olive oil cooking spray

*You can leave out the last two spices if you prefer these less “spicy,” but I highly advise leaving them in!

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Slice sweet potato into fry shapes.
  3. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.  Place sweet potato slices on sheet and sprinkle with all the spices.
  4. Spray the potatoes with cooking spray again and toss to combine. Make sure they are spread in an even layer.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes, flipping halfway through and checking near the end to avoid burning.  They should be spotted!
  6. Remove from oven and devour.

I apologize ahead of time if every meal from here on out has a side of these taters.

Updates:

  1. You can now follow me on twitter, facebook and instagram by clicking the widgets on the sidebar!  Hello there, social media.

  2. I added a “Humbelievable Blogs” page

  3. I added a “Food Philosophy” page

Happy reading foodie friends!

5 thoughts on “WIAW + Spicy Sweet Tater Fries

  1. Pingback: Pesto Sweet Potato Chickpeatza + Life Before Hummusapien | Hummusapien

Leave a comment