Kalamata White Bean Hummus

Since my blog is called Hummusapien, you’d think I’d have a handful of humbelievable hummus recipes.

best apron ever

That’s not exactly the case.

I always have hummus in the fridge–usually two.

My favorites are Trader Joe’s original, Tribe roasted garlic, Sabra spinach and artichoke, Whole Food’s black bean hummus and Whole Food’s Greek hummus.

Trader Joe’s original (the one with the red writing on the lid) is my go-to hummus.  It has the most amazing whipped texture unlike any other hummus around.  It’s priced right at $3.49 for a 16 oz tub and has half the fat of Sabra.  This is important because a 16 oz tub that technically has 16 servings really only has about 6 for me.

Close second: Tribe roasted garlic

This one is supremely creamy and garlicky, just how I like it.  Fabulous texture. I hardly ever shop at Giant Eagle, but I always find a $1.00 off coupon tucked into the top label so I’ve been getting it there.  With the coupon, it’s usually around $3.00.   I believe they have an organic brand now as well.

Third: Sabra spinach and artichoke

This hummus is super creamy and addicting.  The downside is that it’s on the expensive side and has 6 grams of fat per 2 tbsp which adds up super fast when you eat it all the time!

Hummus is extremely easy to make and I really don’t know why I don’t do it more often. It is definitely less expensive than buying it at the store. For today’s version, I didn’t use tahini (ground sesame seed paste) since I know most people don’t  have it on hand in a pinch.  This hummus turned out super creamy and delicious with a nice salty bite from the kalamata olives.  Use fresh garlic cloves, not the kind from a jar– it really makes a huge difference in the flavor.  Feel free to leave out the olives if you’re an olive hater (just add a bit more salt).

Consuming weirdly large amounts of hummus is fine as long as you’re accompanying it with the best condiment known to man: Frank’s.  Twenty-three fluid ounces of Frank’s.

Kalamata White Bean Hummus

-makes about 1 1/2 cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 15 oz can cannelini beans
  • 6 pitted kalamata olives
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • heaping 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a food proccesor.
  2. Blend until smooth!

My favorite ways to eat hummus are with Wasa crackers, Triscuits, cucumbers or celery.  Sometimes your finger or a spoon is a the only vehicle you need.

Do we or do we not die over the cuteness of mini Triscuits?

Welp, I just found Ethan’s 1st birthday present

Hummus Is My Homeboy Baby Organic Onesie Tshirt

I die.

I'm Not A Nugget Vegan/Vegetarian Baby Onesie CreeperToo bad we’re Jewish…

Funny Vegetarian Christmas Gift Tshirt

Three onesies and a side of hummus, coming right up.

6 thoughts on “Kalamata White Bean Hummus

  1. Awesome post (as always) 🙂 … Have u tried hummus that uses beans other than garbanzos? Eat Well Enjoy Life brand has a few different types.. Some made from edamame, others from black beans or lentils… I had some & yum amazing! Worth checking out and maybe creating your own version!

    • Aww thanks, Tori! I looooove black bean hummus! I actually haven’t tried edamame hummus but once at this raw restaurant I had hummus made completely from nuts and it was to die for! Soooo creamy and delish.

  2. Haha this post is like a hummus haven! The spinach and artichoke flavor sounds unreal, and not one I’ve tried in the past! I need to get a tshirt printed with the “Hummus is my homeboy” line- so true!

Leave a comment